School Psychology

  • Role of School Psychologists:

    School psychologists are professionals whose training emphasizes preparation in assessment, mental health, child development, learning, and intervention. Their training in psychology and education provides the skills to work with preschoolers, children, adolescents, teachers and families. School psychologists collaborate with teachers, parents, guidance counselors and others about learning, social and emotional/behavioral problems.

    School psychologists use interviews, observations, and testing data to screen for disabilities and giftedness. They use academic, cognitive, emotional development, and adaptive behavior instruments to determine eligibility for specialized educational programming.

    School psychologists work directly with students and/or families to improve coping skills and behavioral functioning. They also provide counseling, behavior management, and social skills training.

     

    School Psychologists:

    Amanda Brantley
    West Hopkins
    Email: amanda.brantley@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6130

    Kelli Bradbury
    Grapevine Elementary
    Email: kelli.bradbury@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6012

    Amanda Crick
    South Hopkins Middle School
    Email: amanda.crick@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6125

     

    Erica Price
    West Broadway Elementary
    Email: erica.price@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6036

    Toshia Stone
    Jesse Stuart Elementary
    Email: toshia.stone@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6033

    Wendy Watts
    Browning Springs Middle School
    Email: wendy.watts@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6006

     

     

Related Files