Beta Club


    To promote the ideals of academic achievement, character, service and leadership among students.



    I hereby declare that I shall always strive
    To be honest and truthful at all times; to maintain a creditable scholastic record;
    to be of service to my teachers and fellowmen; to conduct myself in a manner to reflect credit upon my school and community.

    The History of
    The National Junior Beta Club

    The National Beta Club Senate authorized the institution of the Junior Division of the National Beta Club on July 22, 1961.

    This new organization was officially named the "National Junior Beta Club" and was established to function organizationally as a separate division of the National Beta Club Program.

    The membership of the National Junior Beta Club is composed of students from the fifth grade to ninth grade. In the summer of 1988, the Board of Directors approved the addition of the fifth grade.

    The National Beta Club Senate approved the organization of the Junior Beta division to provide an incentive program of scholastic and character excellence for students in their formative years.

    On August 17, 1961, the first Junior Beta Club chapter was chartered at Millsap Junior High School, Millsap, Texas. The objective of the National Junior Beta Club is to reward scholastic, leadership, and service achievements among the members of a school's student body.

    There are more than 400, 000 active members in both Junior and Senior divisions and more that 4, 500, 000 former members. Beta membership has increased to more than 7, 200 clubs in 41 states, Washington, D.C. Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Bahamas, Guam and Bahrain.

    Some of our more famous former Betas include: President Bill Clinton, Miss America 2000 Heather French, Habitat for Humanity founder Millard Fuller, NSYNC Member Justin Timberlake, Miss America 1996 Shawntel Smith, anchorwoman Diane Sawyer, football great Herschel Walker and country music star Trisha Yearwood.