Return to Headlines

Special Permission Request Details

2023-2024 Special Permission Request Form

Hopkins County students are required to attend school in their assigned attendance school zone. As a reminder to parents, school attendance zones for the 2023-2024 school year have changed. The updated maps are available at this link. Parents may also visit to determine the school zone to which their address belongs.

Students wanting to attend outside of their assigned school zone may only do so if they are approved through a special permission transfer request during the specified window.

The district will accept Special Permission Transfer requests for schools operating at less than 90% student capacity. Families do not have to submit a new application for special permission students if their student has previously received special permission to attend the same school. A new application will be needed if the student will be transitioning to a new school. 

Applications may be submitted for the following schools: Hanson Elementary School, Hopkins County Central High School, Jesse Stuart Elementary School, South Hopkins Middle School, and West Hopkins School. Current Madisonville North Hopkins students who are affected by the boundary changes and indicated during the survey that they wish to remain at MNHHS will also need to complete a special permission form. MNHHS is at capacity and, therefore, cannot accept additional requests.

Applications for schools with availability will only be accepted Feb. 1 through April 1, 2023. The form will be available Feb. 1 on the district website, Applications may also be picked up at the Board of Education’s Central Office starting on that date. Completed applications must be mailed or hand delivered to the Central Office; applications will not be accepted at the school level.

They will be processed in the order received by the Central Office Department of Pupil Personnel, 320 S. Seminary St., Madisonville. Applications will be reviewed by the DPP Office and the requested school on an individual basis. Approval or denial letters will be mailed by May 1.

For more information, contact Hopkins County Schools Department of Pupil Personnel at (270) 825-6000.